The Zayat family reveals recipients of the New York University Zayat scholarship

Tuesday, April 11, 2017
The Zayat family reveals recipients of the New York University Zayat scholarship
The Zayat Scholarship, a scholarship at New York University for journalism students interested in writing about thoroughbred horse racing, has been funded and in full force since the summer of 2016.  The purpose of the scholarship is to help enrich horse racing journalism excellency and transparency and to educate a new generation of “turf” writers, in hopes to grow the equine journalism industry. 

Ahmed Zayat, Chairman and CEO of Zayat Stables and proud owner of the Triple Crown Champion American Pharoah, said, “I am absolutely delighted that the NYU Liberal Studies school has agreed to partner with NTWAB to fulfill my goal of establishing scholarships in an outstanding program to students with an interest in the thoroughbred racing industry. I want to do my part to help get more journalists interested in racing. It’s part of giving back to a sport that I am proud to be a part of and I believe the press and the turf writers are an integral part of the industry. I want to support this initiative to bring in young talent into the sport through these scholarships.” 

Among the students who received the scholarship this academic year, was Maria Sofia Hernandez.  She said that being awarded this scholarship has increased her interest in writing.  Maria said, “the scholarship provided me with the means to write more often and also learn about things I am interested in, in order to share it with the world.”

NYU, in partnership with the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association (NTWAB), has awarded the following ten students as recipients of the Zayat Scholarship for the 2016-17 academic year: 

Tarek Afifi (Core Program, 2019) 
Siya Bahal (Global Liberal Studies, 2019) 
Sariah Bunker (Global Liberal Studies, 2019) 
Kamila Daurenova (Core Program, 2019) 
Maria Sofia Hernandez (Core Program, 2019) 
Meng Hsuan Hsieh (Core Program, 2019) 
Philip Marino (Core Program, 2019)
Sandra Raafat (Core Program, 2019)
Chloe Webster (Core Program, 2019) 
Jenny Yae (Global Liberal Studies, 2019) 

The Zayat family is proud to announce that during the 2017-18 academic year another group of ten (10) students will be awarded as recipients of the Zayat Scholarship.