Businessman Ahmed Zayat first entered thoroughbred racing in 2005, and in one decade, has amassed some of the most prominent successes in the industry. Since 2005, Zayat Stables has ranked among the top five owners in North America seven times, including #1 in 2008 and 2015.  They have also been the leading owner at some of North America's most prestigious race meets, including Del Mar and Saratoga. Zayat Stables was honored to win their first Eclipse Award in 2014 and their first Classic races in 2015, with homebred champion American Pharoah.

2015 took the Zayat Stables team to unimaginable heights when their homebred horse, American Pharoah, became racing's 12th Triple Crown winner as well as the Breeders' Cup Classic champ. The homebred colt went on to win the 2015 Horse of the Year and 3-year-old Male Eclipse Awards, while Zayat Stables was honored with the Outstanding Owner and Outstanding Breeder Awards as well.

Long a passionate horse enthusiast and equestrian,Ahmed Zayat, the Egyptian-born entrepreneur raced two Grade 1 winners within the first 12 months of forming Zayat Stables and has added to that haul every season since.

Horses carrying Zayat’s distinctive blue and gold silks spattered with Zs include 19 Breeders’ Cup contenders, 13 Grade 1 winners (American Pharoah, Paynter, Bodemeister, Justin Phillip, Point Ashley, A Z Warrior, Eskendereya, Thorn Song, Zensational, Pioneerof the Nile, Jaycito, Rightly So, Downthedustryroad) and six Eclipse Award finalists (American Pharoah, Bodemeister, Eskendereya, Zensational, Point Ashley, Rightly So). In just six years, Zayat Stables has campaigned a Kentucky Derby winner, three Kentucky Derby runners-up and another Kentucky Derby favorite.

The most recognized and successful runners to carry the Zayat Stables silks include: 2015 Triple Crown winner, Horse of the Year and 3-year-old Champion Male American Pharoah (G1); Eclipse Award Finalist, 2012 Kentucky Derby (G1) and Preakness (G1) runner-up Bodemeister; The Haskell Invitational (G1) winner and 2012 NTRA Moment of the Year winner Paynter; The Wood Memorial (G1) winner, Eclipse Award Finalist and 2010 Kentucky Derby (G1) favorite Eskendereya; 2013 millionaire and A.G. Vanderbilt (G1) winner Justin Phillip; multiple G1 winner and 2009 Kentucky Derby (G1) runner-up Pioneerof the Nile; triple G1 winner and Eclipse Award Finalist Zensational; 2011 Kentucky Derby (G1) runner-up Nehro; 2010 Norfolk (G1) Jaycito; 2010 Frizette (G1) winner A Z Warrior; 2010 Ballerina (G1) winner Rightly So; 2006 La Brea (G1) winner Downthedustryroad; 2006 Del Mar Debutante (G1) winner Point Ashley and multiple G1 winner Thorn Song.

Many names of Zayat Stables runners are tabbed with a moniker “Z” or are named for members of the family, including Point Ashley, Justin Phillip, and Littleprincessemma, named for three of his four children. Zayat also often salutes his Egyptian heritage, naming homebred Grade 1 winners Pioneerof the Nile and American Pharoah after his birthplace.

Zayat G1 Winners

Formed Zayat Stables